Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


The regulation of padel by teams

In Spain, padel team championships are held in each of the current categories: Junior, Absolute, Veteran, and Senior. And, in turn, the categories are divided into three different classes based on their performance on the court.

This week the XII European Championship by national selections takes place in Marbella. A total of 18 men’s and 13 women’s teams have registered for the tournament, with Spain hosting.

The International Padel Federation (IPF) has granted the organization of the championship to the Andalusian Padel Federation (APF), whose rules must be governed by Spanish Padel Federation (SPF) regulations.

Regarding the regulation of team tournaments, these are the basic rules determined by the SPF:

In Spain, team championships are held in each of the current age ranges, that is, Junior, Absolute, Veteran, and Senior.

Three categories

There are three categories in this type of tournament, determined by the teams’ results. Thus, the eight best-ranked participate in the first category, the next eight play in the second, and finally, the remaining teams fall into the third category.

All the while, it is possible to change categories, always depending on the successes achieved by the teams. This way, the last two in classes 1 and 2 will be relegated to the lower category, while the two best in category 2 and 3 will be automatically promoted.

Juniors and Veterans

The Junior tournament will be divided into a first category, with a maximum of 8 registered teams, and a second, made up of the rest of the contestants. In the event that the first does not have at least 4 competing teams, players from the second will join it until the number is reached.

With regard to Veterans, the team competitions in this age group are organised in exactly the same way as the third category Spanish Championships, so it’s necessary to hold a preliminary phase if the number of entries exceeds 16.

In the third class, in the hypothetical case that there were more than 16 teams competing, two stages would be played: the qualifying stage and the final. In the first, the teams will be chosen based on autonomous region, which will seek to gain access to the final phase.

Celebrating the championships

The championships take place on different dates. The first category, which has preference, is hosted before the rest.

Subsequently, the second and third classes are held.

Consequences of a team’s absence

The absence of a first or second class team does not result in substitution by another team, but has negative consequences in the form of a penalty because the team will automatically drop to the third category.

The penalties are even more severe for a third class team, since their attendance in the Spanish Team Championships would be barred until the year after their absence.

The players

The clubs may have a maximum of two teams representing them in each of the first two categories, and three in the third category. Even so, interchanging members between different groups is totally prohibited, even if they are part of the same club.

The players will represent the club that issued their license; however, those who possess an independent license have the option to join any team in Spain.

The captain’s role

Prior to the start of each qualifying round, the captains must deliver their teams’ pairings to the judge. Once the names of the pairs have been submitted, they cannot be modified throughout the qualifying round.

The presence of the entire team is essential

Regardless of whether a match is to be played by a pair, the entire team must appear at the start of the qualifying round. Otherwise, the group will be eliminated for not making an appearance.

When a qualifying round’s matches cannot be played at the same time, as many courts as possible must be used. The beginning of a qualifying round will depend upon the conclusion of the previous one.

Each match adds a point and the qualifying rounds are usually the best out of three.

National ranking

The national ranking will be taken into account, where the players are ordered based on the results obtained during the previous year. There are three categories in the national ranking.

The first consists of the male players ranked from 1 to 30 and the female players from 1 to 20. The second includes the male players ranked from 31 to 100 and the female players ranked from 21 to 50. As for the third, it’s composed of male players ranked above 101 and female players ranked above 51. The ranking is updated weekly.

Autonomous selections

The Spanish Championships by Autonomous Selections are played using the same categories as the national championships: Junior,  Absolute and Veteran.

Here we find a significant difference with respect to the national tournaments: the men’s and women’s categories are played separately.

The eight most outstanding teams will form the first category, with the rest of the participants forming the second. The two best of the second will continue on to the first.

Participation is permitted for all Autonomous Federations who are part of the SPF.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Padel Rackets

The Spanish player debuts her new special edition racket at this year's Marbella Masters World Padel Tour.

Padel Plans

If you are passionate about padel or sports in general, want to spend a whole weekend playing on the best courts and take a...


Though only half a century old, padel has been established on national television and is watched in ten countries. Today, you can enjoy 76...


Padel is a sport on the rise, not only nationally but also worldwide.